Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide

Parathyroid Hormone (WG-PTH)



Name Position Country Term Time in Office
C. Sturgeon Chair UK extra term  2018 01 - 2018 12
C. Burns Member UK
W. Fraser Member UK
R. Singh Member US
J-C. Souberbielle Member FR
S. Sprague Member US
H. Vesper Member US
A. Algeciras Consultant US
L. Demers Consultant US
D. Fogarty Consultant UK


Terms of Reference 

  • Collaborative educational effort to encourage worldwide implementation of PTH IS 95/646 and to assess the effect of this on between-method agreement.
  • Definition of inclusion / exclusion requirements for an appropriate panel of sera and plasma with which to establish reference intervals and establishment of such a panel with support from the clinical community and diagnostics manufacturers
  • Development of a reference measurement procedure for PTH(1-84) to a standard that would enable its adoption by the IFCC reference laboratory network.

 Current Projects

  • Raise awareness of shortcomings of current PTH assays with renal physicians and clinical biochemists.
  • Prepare good practice recommendations for the optimal pre-analytical handling of patients and samples.
  • Confirm results of a harmonisation study that derived assay-specific targets
  • Encourage adoption of assay-specific PTH action limits for managing renal patients as an interim measure pending standardisation of PTH methods in terms of a common standard.


List of Corresponding Members, nominated by National Societies

Name Full and Affiliate Member Societies
David Gillis Australasian Association of Clinical Biochemists
Uta Ceglarek Deutsche Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin e.V. (DGKL)
Kostas Makris Greek Society of Clinical Chemistry - Clinical Biochemistry (GSCC-CB)
Satoshi Hirayama Japan Society of Clinical Chemistry (JSCC)
Peter Anaja Association of Clinical Chemists Nigeria (ACCN)
Manjula Dissanayake Association for Clinical Biochemistry, Sri Lanka
Kubra Dogan Turkish Biochemical Society (TBS)

List of Corresponding Members, nominated by Corporate Members

Name Corporate Members
Gordon Avery ABBOTT
Vogl Christian ROCHE Diagnsotics GmbH
Paul Sibley


Working Group Chairs'  contact

Dr. Catharine STURGEON
Dept of Clinical Biochemistry
Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
Edinburgh EH16 4SA, UK
Tel:  +44 131 242 6885
Fax: +44 131 242 6882

Website developed by Insoft Digital