Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide

African Federation of Clinical Chemistry (AFCC)


The African Federation of Clinical Chemistry ( is an organization of Clinical Chemistry Societies in the African continent, and a regional society of the International Federation of Clinical Chemistry (IFCC). At present, the membership comprises of the following fifteen countries:

  • Egypt - Egyptian Society of Clinical Chemistry and Clinical Laboratory Sciences (ESCC)
  • Egypt - The Egyptian Association of Health Care Quality and Patient Safety
  • Ethiopia - Ethiopian Medical Laboratory Association (EMLA)
  • Kenya - Kenyan Association of Clinical Chemistry
  • Malawi - Malawi Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists (MAMLS)
  • Morocco - Société Marocaine de Chimie Clinique (SMCC)
  • Nigeria - Association of Clinical Chemists of Nigeria (ACCN)
  • Rwanda  - Rwanda Society of Pathologists
  • South Africa  - South African Association of Clinical Biochemistry (SAACB)
  • Sudan - Sudanese Association of Clinical Biology
  • Tunisia -  Société Tunisienne de Biologie Clinique (STBC)
  • Zambia  - Biomedical Society of Zambia (BSZ)
  • Zimbabwe - Zimbabwe Association of Clinical Biochemists (ZACB)

Eleven of these countries are Full Member Societies of the IFCC.

The inaugural congress of the AFCC took place in October 2009 in Ibadan, Nigeria and the second congress was in Nairobi, Kenya 2011. The third congress was held in Cape Town, South Africa in 2013. The fourth congress took place in Harare, Zimbabwe 28-30 April 2015. The fifth congress coincided with the IFCC WordLab congress in Durban, South Africa in October 22 to 25. The sixth congress was held in Marrakech, Morocco from 23rd to 27th September, 2019. The current Board members serving for the term 2018 - 2020 are: President: Prof RT Erasmus (South Africa), Immediate Past-President: Prof AB Okesina (Nigeria), President-Elect: Dr M Charles Davies (Nigeria), Secretary: H. Lumano (Zambia), Treasurer: Dr J.A.A. Onakoya (Nigeria), Members-at-large: Mr GT Akalu (Ethiopia) and Dr Chabraoui (Morocco).

The aim of the AFCC is to promote and improve the quality of provision of laboratory and health care services to communities it serves. This is on going through improving the development and practice of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine through education and excellent scientific exchanges in Africa. To date, academic exchanges between Nigeria, Kenya and South Africa have been taking place. Major impact that AFCC has enjoyed in recent times is Young Scientist Program of IFCC, which has been a platform to support many young Africans to attend conferences in various part of the world. Recently we have been having communication with Egypt with a few for further collaboration. Areas of major concern in Clinical Chemistry have been identified and to this end quality management courses have been organized in several member countries . The clinical case study program provided by the AACC has continued to be distributed to all AFCC member countries where it is being incorporated in the training of residents. The AFCC signed a MOU with the African Society of Laboratory Medicine in 2019 to collaborate on promoting training and education of laboratory professionals in the African continent.


AFCC President:

Prof. Rajiv Timothy ERASMUS
Dept of Chemical Pathology
PO Box 19113
Tygerberg, 7505, South Africa

Website developed by Insoft