Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide
All news

Register to the IFCC Live Webinar on 20th October, 2021 "Ethical dilemmas in laboratory medicine during pandemic"

Published: Tuesday, October 12, 2021

20th October 2021
Don't miss the next IFCC webinar!

Dear Colleagues,

The next IFCC webinar: "Ethical dilemmas in laboratory medicine during a pandemic"  will be held on 20 October

With its Task Force on Ethics, the IFCC creates a collective voice for ethical issues in Laboratory Medicine and raises awareness of ethics-related issues. The COVID 19 pandemic tests are our professional responsibility and demand that we do not simply perform tests and use technology uncritically.

In this webinar, we will first talk about the causes of the profoundly reduced life expectancy of Australia’s remote-dwelling Aborigines and describe demands upon the medical practitioner that are so fundamental that they are rarely encountered in "urban" medicine.

Then we will concentrate on how the Covid-19 pandemic is changing the research and society, focusing on the use of remnant clinical samples for research, often exempted from informed consent and the idea of collaboration with scientific research as a moral duty.

Finally, as this pandemic has emphasized many long-standing inequities in communities we will highlight the impact of long-standing medical conditions, challenges of testing and contact tracing, mistrust of medical institutions and vaccines.

Is this the time to propose a paradigm shift in health care and research ethics?

The Webinar will consist of three talks (20 minutes each) and will be followed by a panel discussion. Registrants will be able to ask questions to the presenters.

Chair: Dr. Nilda Fink

  1. 'Some unique ethical challenges arising from clinical practice with Australia's remote-dwelling Aboriginal people'  - Dr. Richard Davey
  2. 'Ethical concerns and requirements regarding the use of COVID-19 diagnostic samples for research' - Dr. Federico Remes Lenicov
  3. ' Addressing Health Disparities Highlighted by the COVID-19 Pandemic' - Dr. Joe Wiencek

 

Please feel free to share this event on your social media with #IFCCLive Webinars

A certificate of participation will be provided at the end of this webinar.

  • Schedule: 20 min per speaker plus 20 min panel discussion
  • Time Zones: Live presentations starting at: 10:00 AM EDT - 11:00 AM Buenos Aires- AR; 4:00 PM European Time; 7:30 PM India; 10:00 PM CST-Beijing
    Important: Please ensure that you carefully determine the time that the presentation will start in your global time zone. Click here to convert to your time zone.
  • Recorded webinar: available on demand
  • Certificate of participation: available for all registrants

The IFCC Live Webinar Series is partially sponsored by Siemens and Boston Children's Hospital

 

    

 
Website developed by Insoft