Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide

C-MD Membership

NEW: Link to the CanGèneTest newsletter


NamePositionCountryTermTime in Office
P. Ahmad-NejadChairDE2nd2021 01 - 2023 12
E. CapoluongoMemberIT1st2022 04 - 2024 12
M. LinderMemberUS2nd2021 01 - 2023 12
S. PanMemberCN1st2021 05 - 2023 12
A. Vacaflores SalinasMemberBO1st2020 03 - 2022 12
J. HuggettConsultantUK
D. PayneConsultantUS
M. RellingConsultantUS
C. ZhangObserverCN


Terms of Reference

  • To foster dynamic exchanges between IFCC and molecular diagnostic laboratories and industry
  • To produce guidelines on clinical validation of tests, conduct and reporting of molecular diagnostic tests
  • To create a network of locus-specific IFCC Molecular Diagnostics Centres

Current Projects

  • Establish an International Network of IFCC Reference Centres in Molecular Diagnostics
  • Standardise formats for reporting of molecular diagnostic results
  • Facilitate integration of pharmacogenetic testing into routine diagnostics at the appropriate quality standards

List of Corresponding Members, nominated by Full Members' Societies


Full and Affiliate Member Societies
Angela SolanoConfederación Unificada Bioquímica de la Republica Argentina (CUBRA)
Daniel  BurkeAustralasian Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine (AACB)
François RousseauCanadian Society of Clinical Chemists (CSCC)
Luisa María NietoColegio Nacional de Bacteriología CNB - Colombia
Noha KandilThe Egyptian Association of Health Care Quality and Patient Safety
Veli KairistoFinnish Society of Clinical Chemistry (SKKY)
Katell Peoc'hSociété Française de Biologie Clinique (SFBC)
Daniel TeupserDeutsche Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin e.V. (DGKL)
István BaloghHungarian Society of Laboratory Medicine (MLDT)
Demak L TobigIndonesian Association for Clinical Chemistry (HKKI)
Nurit RosenbergIsrael Society for Clinical Laboratory Science
Valeria D'ArgenioItalian Society of Clinical Chemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology (SIBioC)
Hideki NiimiJapan Society of Clinical Chemistry (JSCC)
Youssef BamouSociété Marocaine de Chimie Clinique (SMCC)
Jorge R. Padilla GutiérrezMexican Association of Clinical Laboratory Sciences (MACLS)
Mabel Charles DaviesAssociation of Clinical Chemists Nigeria (ACCN)
Stein BerganNorwegian Society of Medical Biochemistry (NSMB)
Sajjad Sial IqbalPakistan Society of Chemical Pathologists
Katarina Trebušak PodkrajšekSlovenian Association for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (SZKKLM)
Jesus Molano MateosSociedad Española de Bioquímica Clínica y Patología Molecular (SEQC)
Mine GüzelTurkish Biochemical Society (TBS)
Particia EsperónAsociación Bioquímica Uruguaya (ABU)
Hoang Van SonVietnamese Association of Clinical Biochemists (VACB)
Yusheng ZhuAmerican Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC)

List of Corresponding Members, nominated by Corporate Members


Corporate Member
Gavin ClohertyABBOTT Diagnostics
Barbara BaggianiA. MENARINI Diagnostics
Yehuan ZhengAUTOBIO Diagnostics
Madeleine HeckmannSIEMENS

Committee Chairs' contact:

Prof. Dr. med. Parviz AHMAD-NEJAD
Witten Herdecke University
Chair for Microbiology and Laboratory Medicine
Director - Institute for Med. Laboratory Diagnostics
Helios Universitätsklinikum Wuppertal
Reference Laboratory for Infectious Diseases of the Reference Institute for Bioanalytics (RfB)
Heusnerstr. 40
42283 Wuppertal
Tel.: +49 202 896 2525
Fax: +49 202 896 2726

Website developed by Insoft