Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide

IFCC - Scientific Division (SD)

 SD-Executive Committee:


From left to right:
Heinz Schimmel
- IRMM Consultant; Philippe Gillery - Chair; Gary Myers - JCTLM Rep.; Ian Young - SD Past Chair; Joseph Passarelli - SD EC Secretary; Christa Cobbaert - SD Vice Chair 

The Scientific Division (SD)

A Committee on Standards was established in 1966 "to instigate and promote theoretical and practical developments in the field of standards and standardisation in clinical chemistry - in its broadest sense." During its first decade, the main efforts of the Committee were directed toward analytical nomenclature, reference materials and methods, and quality control. Its achievements during this period are illustrated by the list of publications on these topics. Following a Council decision in 1978, efforts have been made to extend its work to include more subjects of interest both to clinicians and clinical chemists. Accordingly, the name of the Committee was changed to the Scientific Committee and later to the Scientific Division.

Mission Statement

The mission of the SD is to advance the science of Clinical Chemistry and to apply it to the practice of Clinical Laboratory Medicine.

SD Strategy

According to the Statutes of IFCC, the Federation exists to advance the science and practice of Clinical Chemistry and to further its application in the provision of health services and the practice of medicine. The goals to which the Scientific Division is committed are to:

  • Identify research areas of relevance to Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine and assist the transfer of research results to the profession.
  • Identify scientific and technological problems in current practice and provide solutions and guidelines on how to resolve them.
  • Facilitate the development and transfer of technical innovations to clinical laboratory professionals and clinicians.
  • Facilitate the development and implementation of diagnostic strategies.
  • Establish standards for scientific and technical aspects of good laboratory practice.
  • Respond to scientific and technical needs of IFCC Member Societies, IFCC Corporate Members and external agencies.
  • Participate actively in the scientific programs of IFCC congresses and other scientific meetings.
  • Ensure the quality of IFCC scientific documents.
  • Organise Master Discussions.

SD Projects

The SD initiates and manages projects with its own resources or through its Committees and Working Groups. Work is conducted in cooperation with other IFCC units and with relevant National and International Organisations. The SD ensures that each of its Committees and Working Groups are functioning under clear terms of reference together with an agreed schedule of activity. The SD will assist in the development of the project proposals, and will undertake an annual review of progress and review and approve any documents that result from the work.

SD Executive Committee (SD-EC)

Name Position Country Term Time in Office
P. Gillery Chair FR 1st 2017 01 - 2019 12
C.M.  Cobbaert Vice-Chair NL 1st 2017 01 - 2019 12
J. Passarelli Secretary US 1st 2015 01 - 2017 12
T. Nobori Member JP 1st 2015 01 - 2017 12
To be nominated Member   1st 2017 02 - 2019 12
To be nominated Member   1st 2017 02 - 2019 12
J.F. Pierson-Perry Corporate Member US 1st  2015 02 - 2017 12
H. Schimmel IRMM Consultant BE
D. Bunk NIST Consultant US
G. Myers SD Consultant/Chair JCTLM US



8.2.6 Nomenclature, Properties and Units (C-NPU) in collaboration with International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) R. Flatman (AU)
8.2.11 Molecular Diagnostics (C-MD) D. Payne (US)
8.2.23 Traceability in Laboratory Medicine (C-TLM) L. Siekmann (DE)
8.2.24 Reference Intervals and Decision Limits (C-RIDL) Y. Ozarda (TR)
8.2.25 Thyroid Function Tests (C-STFT) L. Thienpont (BE)
8.2.26 Harmonization of Autoimmune Tests (C-HAT) To be appointed

Working Groups

8.3.35. Standardisation of Hemoglobin A2 (WG-HbA2) R. Paleari (IT)
8.3.36 Standardisation of Carbohydrate-Deficient Transferrin (WG-CDT) J. Wielders (NL)
8.3.39 Standardisation of Albumin Assay in Urine (WG-SAU) in collaboration with National Kidney Disease Education Program (NKDEP) L. Bachmann (US)
8.3.40 Standardisation of Pregnancy-Associated Plasma Protein A (WG-PAPP A) S. Wittfooth (UK)
8.3.41 Growth-Hormone (WG-GH) E. Lentjes (NL)
8.3.42 Standardisation of Insulin Assays (WG-SIA) in collaboration with American Diabetes Association (ADA) and European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) A. Saenger (US)
8.3.43. Standardisation of Troponin I (WG-TNI) D. Bunk (US)
8.3.48 Parathyroid Hormone (WG-PTH) C. Sturgeon (UK)
8.3.49 CSF Proteins (WG-CSF) K. Blennow (SE)
8.3.50 Standardisation of Bone Markers Assays (WG-BMA) H. Morris (AU)
8.3.51 Commutability (WG-C) G. Miller (US)
8.3.53 Immunosuppressive Drugs (WG-ID) To be appointed
8.3.54 Apolipoproteins by Mass Spectrometry (WG-APO MS) C. Cobbaert (NL)
8.3.55 Pancreatic Enzymes (WG-PE) D. Grote-Koska (DE)
8.3.56 Fecal Immunochemical Testing (WG-FIT) S. Benton (UK)


SD Executive Committe's contacts


Prof. Philippe GILLERY
Laboratoire de Biologie et de
Recherche Pédiatriques
Hôpital Maison Blanche
CHU de Reims
45 rue Cognacq Jay
51092 Reims Cedex
Tel: +33 3 2678 3952
Fax: +33 3 2678 3882

Corporate Representative
Principal Key Expert
Global Assay Development, Glasgow Site
Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics
Tel: +302.631.7692
Cel: +302.229.6462
Fax: +302.631.7487

Prof. Christa M. COBBAERT
Clinical Chemist Head of the Department
of Clinical Chemistry
Leiden University Medical Center
Postbus 9600 Postzone E2-P
2300 RC Leiden
The Netherlands
Tel: +31 71 5262278/+31 71 5264483
Fax : +31 71
E-mail: C.M.Cobbaert@lumc

European Commission - JRC - IRMM
Retieseweg 111
2440 Geel
Tel: +32 14 571720
Fax: +32 14 590406

Scientific Relations, Research and Development
Roche Diagnostics Corporation
9115 Hague Road, PO Box 50416
Indianapolis, Indiana 46250-0416
Tel: +1 317 521 4206
Fax: +1 317 521 2324
Mobile: +1-317-625-7810

Dr. David BUNK
Chemical Science and Technology
National Institute of Standards and
100 Bureau Drive, MS 8392
Gaithersburg MD 20899-8392
Tel: +1 301 975 5071
Fax: +1 301 977 0685
Prof. Tsutomu NOBORI
Professor Emeritus, Mie University
Oyamada Memorial Spa Hospital
5538-1 Yamada-cho, Yokkaichi
Mie 512-1111
Tel: (+81) 59-328-1260
Fax: (+81)59-328-1921

Dr. Gary L. MYERS
JCTLM Consultant
Chair, JCTLM
4711 Derby Lane
Smyrna, GA 30082USA
Tel: +404-457-5804



Website developed by Insoft Digital