Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide


L/R, T/B:

Rami Khalil (Member); Andrew Don-Wauchope (Member), Annalise Zemlin (Chair),

Valdes Banys (Corr.Member); Kieran Cheng (Corr. Member); Kalen Nissen (Corr.Member); Seema Barghava (Member).



Name Position Country Term Time in Office
A. Zemlin Chair ZA 2nd 2021 01 - 2023 12
A. Don-Wauchope Member CA 2nd 2021 01 - 2023 12
R. Khalil Member EG 1st 2020 03 - 2022 12
S. Barghava Member IN 2nd 2022 01 - 2024 12
H. Sharrod-Cole Member UK 1st 2022 04 - 2024 12
N. Giménez Gomez Consultant ES    
C. Florkowski Consultant NZ    
K. Rodriguez-Capote Consultant CA    

Aims and Objectives

The main aim of the website of the Committee on Evidence-based Laboratory Medicine (C-EBLM) of the International Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (IFCC) is to disseminate information about Evidence-based Laboratory Medicine (EBLM) in general, and about the activities of the C-EBLM, in particular.

Our general objective is to encourage the IFCC community to get more involved in the education and practice of evidence-based laboratory medicine. Key objectives are to provide:

  • general information on the state of the art of EBLM,
  • specific information on the methodology and tools for practising EBLM,
  • a database or links to databases which contain evidence-based information related to the specific field of laboratory medicine,
  • educational materials to support EBLM training,
  • information on C-EBLM related events and activities.

Target Group

The C-EBLM website is primarily targeted at the IFCC community of laboratory professionals, member organisations and corporate members. However, the website may be useful for physicians and other healthcare professionals, and for EBM - related organisations, interested in the evidence-base of laboratory diagnosis.


Editor: Robert Christenson.

Editorial team: The content of the website is peer-reviewed and updated by members and associate members of the C-EBLM (see Committee membership)

If you have any problems with the use of this website or if you wish to send your comments to the editorial team, please contact the editor at

Committee Chair's contact:

Dr Annalise Zemlin
Division of Chemical Pathology
NHLS and Stellenbosch University
PO Box 19113
Tygerberg Hospital
Cape Town, 7505
South Africa


Website developed by Insoft